Holy Orders


“Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time…It includes three degrees of order: episcopate, presbyterate, and diaconate” (CCC 1536). Deacons, priest and bishops are essential to the Catholic Church because we believe that they continue the work begun by the apostles.

Sacraments 101

From: Busted Halo
Join Fr. Dave Dwyer, CSP, as he explains what Holy Orders are, what happens at an Ordination, and what it means to say yes to God.

These questions and more are answered in this edition of “Sacraments 101,” a web video series geared for those who’d like an introduction or refresher course on these important, tangible Catholic experiences of God.


Have you ever sensed God calling you to be a permanent deacon?

Consider that 135 men had this feeling and are now serving as deacons in our diocese.

Contact Rick Stachura at 716 542 4233 or rstachura@rochester.rr.com to register or further information.

Do you have questions about the priesthood?

Visit the Diocese Vocation website to learn more: www.buffalovocations.org

Or contact the Director of Vocations (the priest in charge of helping candidates along the path towards Priesthood) at:

Rev. Walter J. Szczesny, Vocations Director
795 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14203
Buffalo Office: 716.847.5535
Seminary Office: 716.652.3796